Artist Spotlight: Jennifer Maestre

Source: http://www.jennifermaestre.com/

JenniferMaestre.com says: To make the pencil sculptures, I take hundreds of pencils, cut them into 1-inch sections, drill a hole in each section (to turn them into beads), sharpen them all and sew them together. The beading technique I rely on most is peyote stitch. I’m inspired by animals, plants, other art, Ernst Haeckel, Odilon Redon, mythology. In fact, it isn’t easy to specify particular sources of inspiration. Sometimes one sculpture will inspire the next, or maybe I’ll make a mistake, and that will send me off in a new direction.

I say: I stumbled upon these sculptures, and thought they were pretty damn unique. She gots mad pencils, yo! I like the “Chimera” personally. Go here to see other samples of her work.

One Comment

  1. D
    Posted September 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    dude. that is seriously rad…. and so is this blog

    is this where I’m supposed to write “first”?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

